Louisiana Auto Insurance
Before climbing behind the wheel, it’s important to obtain proper coverage for the vehicle. Getting Louisiana auto insurance can save the driver a lot of financial pain and fines down the road. Insuring the automobile will protect not only the driver but others in case of an accident. Without it, drivers leave themselves open to tickets and even lawsuits.
What are the minimum coverages in Louisiana?
In the State of Louisiana, drivers are required to have a minimum of $10,000 of coverage per person in addition to $20,000 per accident in case of injury or death. Not only will the coverage protect the driver in the event of an accident, having proof of insurance will prevent costly fines in the event the motorist is pulled over by a police officer. Keeping an insurance card in the glove compartment will make it easy for the officer to ascertain the insured status of the vehicle, even if there’s a computer glitch or problem.
Not All Vehicles Require Insurance
There are some vehicles that are not required to be insured in the state. For example:
- Vehicles used for display purposes or parades
- Cars that are not registered and are not operational
- Cars owned and operated by the state or buses owned by a city
- Those vehicles that are not driven on highways are not required to have insurance
Fines for Not Carrying Your Insurance Card
Even if a motorist is caught without a card from their insurer, there is a grace period with which to remedy the situation. There is a three-day period in which the vehicle owner may obtain coverage to avoid penalties. If the coverage is not obtained and proof of insurance is not provided to the proper officials, drivers will receive fines of between $75 and $100 for the first offense. There will be a $100 to $250 fine for the second offense and a $700 fee for every offense thereafter.
Should an officer pull over a driver who cannot provide proof that they’re insured:
- The motorist could have his or her vehicle impounded.
- The officer could remove the tags and attach a yellow tag that will inform other officers that proof was not previously provided.
- Once proof is shown to the motor vehicle office, the vehicle owner can reclaim his or her tags and avoid further penalties.
- If proof cannot be provided right away, a letter from the insurer might be enough.
Notify the State of Changes to the Policy or Carrier
It’s important to keep the state notified of changes to the policy or carrier. Having a policy is a requirement for obtaining or renewing registration. Therefore, it’s critical to provide the most recent information. The best way to avoid problems with registration is to maintain payments on the policy and to make sure the policy is renewed when necessary.
Avoiding these problems is as easy as contacting a reputable provider and getting the necessary coverage. It can cost the driver about $50 to reinstate the tag once it has been confiscated. Careful, responsible drivers can achieve affordable rates that can help them avoid costly fees and the inability to use their vehicle.
Keeping track of the insurance is a smart move for car owners. Maintaining the payments, keeping proof of coverage close at hand, and staying abreast of the necessary Louisiana auto insurance requirements is essential to staying out of trouble. It’s also a critical component in protecting both the driver and everyone else on the road.
Are you looking for the best rate possible for the coverage you need? The only way to do this in your area is to search our directory of local auto insurance agents or to compare auto insurance quotes from multiple providers. Look around our site, learn about different insurance products, and find local agents or national companies by entering your zip code into one of our convenient forms located on every page.
Leave a Reply